× If its technical discussion about hardware, software and so on and its not game specific it belongs here.

Headset? Need opinion/advice

  • S.A.F Klawful
  • S.A.F Klawful's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
5 years 9 months ago #16180 by S.A.F Klawful
S.A.F Klawful created the topic: Headset? Need opinion/advice
Hey guys, im in the market for a new headset. Price range i'm looking at is $100-140 tops.

So far, I've been humming about the following 3.

- Logitech G35's
- Creative Fatality MkII
- Turtle Beach Ear Force PX21 or Ear Force X11

or maybe Razer Carcharias.

Can you guys let me know what you have and what you reckon of them, plus any advice on the models i'm considering.

I need something that is comfortable for LONG periods of gaming (8+ hours), with a good noise-cancelling headphone, and of course, great audio for FPS games.

PS: I'll be running these on my on-board Realtek ALC889 Audio (Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3 Mainboard) , haven't got a soundcard yet.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 9 months ago #16181 by S.A.F OggyMan
S.A.F OggyMan replied the topic: Re: Headset? Need opinion/advice
Logitec g930 the wireless, I found the cord on the g35 get tangled...
The others I'm not sure about, also the logitec software is a nutter

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F Klawful
  • S.A.F Klawful's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
5 years 9 months ago #16182 by S.A.F Klawful
S.A.F Klawful replied the topic: Re: Headset? Need opinion/advice
I'm not fussed about wireless, i'm used to a cord and don't have any problem with it, and couldn't care less about spending the extra $50-60 just for wireless. $140 is my limit for this spend. Thanks tho.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 9 months ago #16183 by S.A.F Masterpetey
S.A.F Masterpetey replied the topic: Re: Headset? Need opinion/advice
i got some creative fatalities. www.ifocus.co.nz/Speakers+%252526+Headph...a2lqtjm3ksskkhvrb9p4 , quite happy with them although not so great noise cancelling wise and after like 5 hours my ears start to throb, but they really comfy for the first 4 hours lol and they have good sound and are quite tough, i have thrown them and my son got a hold of them a few times.some sennheisers arent too bad either
i have had these for years:
www.ifocus.co.nz/Speakers+%252526+Headph...a2lqtjm3ksskkhvrb9p4
not bad at all honestly and bargain price.

i have even heards some good things from the basic logitechs but no experience as to how their performance or other things are
www.ifocus.co.nz/Speakers+%252526+Headph...a2lqtjm3ksskkhvrb9p4

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F GOATKILLER?
  • S.A.F GOATKILLER?'s Avatar
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
5 years 9 months ago #16185 by S.A.F GOATKILLER?
S.A.F GOATKILLER? replied the topic: Re: Headset? Need opinion/advice

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 9 months ago #16188 by S.A.F M3RRiK
S.A.F M3RRiK replied the topic: Re: Headset? Need opinion/advice
Have G35 and recently went the wireless version which is awesome. The headset it light (considering it has a 10 hour play time battery in it). The sound I think it better than the G35. G35 is a great headset but as oggy said the cable does tend to curl and it's not a flexible as it could be so it does get a little caught up with other cables but I wouldn't consider that a deal breaker.

So... G35 in budget... if you could get a little more go G930.

I'd probably justify spending a little more on the G930 simple because you will not need anything else for the next 3 years and you don't need any fancy sound card. It's USB and will give you great sound using the onboard sound so save the $ that way.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F Klawful
  • S.A.F Klawful's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
5 years 9 months ago #16190 by S.A.F Klawful
S.A.F Klawful replied the topic: Re: Headset? Need opinion/advice
Thanks for the advice guys, that pretty much eliminates the creative fatality. Must be comfy.

G35's are currently a good contender, but haven't ruled out the Turtle Beach headphones, just need to research em more. Heard they are ub3r comfy.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 9 months ago #16191 by S.A.F OggyMan
S.A.F OggyMan replied the topic: Re: Headset? Need opinion/advice

S.A.F Klawful wrote: I'm not fussed about wireless, i'm used to a cord and don't have any problem with it, and couldn't care less about spending the extra $50-60 just for wireless. $140 is my limit for this spend. Thanks tho.


got mine for $120 delivered of ebay.....:blink:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 9 months ago #16194 by S.A.F M3RRiK
S.A.F M3RRiK replied the topic: Re: Headset? Need opinion/advice
Stop mucking about and check all the sofas for change. Do the same at all your friends houses and also Phantoms then go get G930s and never worry about a headset again!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 9 months ago #16195 by S.A.F OggyMan
S.A.F OggyMan replied the topic: Re: Headset? Need opinion/advice
trust us...

the cord will piss you off.... you cant unkink them...

great headset..G930

. i thought the turtle was mainly for consoles.....

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F majorpous
  • S.A.F majorpous's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Active Contributor
  • Active Contributor
More
5 years 9 months ago - 5 years 9 months ago #16196 by S.A.F majorpous
S.A.F majorpous replied the topic: Re: Headset? Need opinion/advice
I disagree about the G930. They sound terrible. Reason? wireless transmission for one, poor quality DAC's and the actual amplifier is running off a very low capacity battery, which is expected to last 10 hours of not only running the amp but also a wireless connection and a DAC. Actually, damn near all gaming headsets sound F'n horrible with boomy bass, compressed dynamics and high frequencies which have razors attached.

Sennheisers upper level headsets sound awesome, and work for not only gaming but also extended music listening. Music listeners are far more fussy about not only sound quality but comfort also - many use headphones for 8 hours a day plus. I know that on a UK flight my Sennheiser HD650's did not get at all fatiguing or uncomfortable.

Grado, Ultrasone and AKG also make headsets which will outperform Logitech's best offerings 10 times over. It just depends on knowing where to look, and if you can justify the expense. As a good headset will have a replaceable cable and pads, the reality is that you should expect it to last 10 years or more, with very minimal maintenance costs. 10 years multiplied by maybe 3 hours a day on average is very roughly 10,000 hours. My senns pads are still great, although just starting to show a little wear after 2 years of heavy use. The cable is fine still, and not at all tangly.

If you cant find a good headset ( and remember you pay a lot for the addition of the boom and mic for some reason ) just get standard, good quality headphones and use an external mic. I just discovered that my new display has a stereo beam forming mic setup built into it... not too sure how it works tho!.

A $300 headset therefore costs you maybe $.04/hour including new cables and pads from time to time......

I know that Petey has heard my Senns, and compared to whatever it is that Te bag has ( logitech with buttons to disable his testicles or become Lukes Father ) they are far superior in the sound quality stakes, and infinitely superior in the comfort stakes....
Last Edit: 5 years 9 months ago by S.A.F majorpous.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F GOATKILLER?
  • S.A.F GOATKILLER?'s Avatar
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
5 years 9 months ago #16197 by S.A.F GOATKILLER?
S.A.F GOATKILLER? replied the topic: Re: Headset? Need opinion/advice
but i like Te's rapist voice!!!!! it reminds me of you Major

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F Klawful
  • S.A.F Klawful's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
5 years 9 months ago #16198 by S.A.F Klawful
S.A.F Klawful replied the topic: Re: Headset? Need opinion/advice
While I agree that Grado, Ultrasone and AKG do have better audio, none make headsets with the mic attached... tho I could over-look that if the comfort and audio quality is good enough. (I've owned a pair of $200 AKG K301's long ago, best sound ever... but not comfortable for long hours)

But my budget this time can't be stretched that far this time, $140 (Maybe $150-160 if they were PERFECT) would be my limit.

I could possibly stretch the budget to the Logitech G930's, but I've also read elsewhere that being wireless does considerably cut the audio quality down, and I've never really cared for wireless. Cords don't bother me, at all.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F Klawful
  • S.A.F Klawful's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
5 years 9 months ago - 5 years 9 months ago #16199 by S.A.F Klawful
S.A.F Klawful replied the topic: Re: Headset? Need opinion/advice
I've added a new contender, and what from I've read, it's almost good enough to qualify as "PERFECT" for my needs and justify the near $150 price tag once shipping is included.

SteelSeries Siberia v2 Full-size Headset

Reviews state comfy, good mic, unbeatable build quality, and top-grade sound quality that's good enough for both gaming and music/movies. Many have compared the audio quality to the Sennheiser PC-350's (which are like $300, and well-known to have some of the best gaming audio)

So far, this has my attention.

Note: G35's have been officially excluded from my choices due to cable problems
Last Edit: 5 years 9 months ago by S.A.F Klawful. Reason: .

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 9 months ago #16201 by S.A.F Masterpetey
S.A.F Masterpetey replied the topic: Re: Headset? Need opinion/advice
never tried turtle beach or a siberia....they look awesome tho but i hav only had creatives, sennheisers and logitechs as far as heat SETS go, so i cant comment on that.
i must agree that majors senns are awesome for gaming,...fantastic sound reproduction and quality, way better than logitechs imo...
good luck tho

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 9 months ago - 5 years 9 months ago #16204 by S.A.F OggyMan
S.A.F OggyMan replied the topic: Re: Headset? Need opinion/advice
www.cmstorm.com/en/products/audio/sirus/

RRP $139

by COOLERMASTER

Sirus Gaming Headset

Built for gaming enthusiasts and audiophiles alike, the CM Storm Sirus 5.1 Surround Sound Headset creates an immersive gaming experience with hi-fidelity sounds capes and intensified bass.

Sirus produces precise and immaculate sound through its 8 discrete speaker channel pairs of front, rear, center, and sub; delivering accurate real-time 360 degree audio that is fully adjustable through its tactical mixing console. In addition, Sirus is coupled with a uni-directional microphone with background noise cancellation that enables crystal clear conversations with teammates and enemy combatants.

True 5.1 Surround Sound
On-The-Fly Rear, Center, & Front speaker control for maximum sound customization
Interchangeable ear-cups for breathable audio and noise cancellation
Dual gold-plated USB Connectors for improved signal quality
Microphone with LED mute indicator


Headphones

Channel: True 5.1 surround sound
Driver: F/R/C: 30mm Sub: 40mm
Impedance: F/R/C: 32 Ohms Sub: 16 Ohms
Transducer principle: Dynamic closed
Ear coupling: Circumaural
Ear cushions: Detachable micro fiber
Sensitivity: >105dB
Frequency Response: 10Hz – 20,000Hz
Distortion: Less than 1%

Microphone

Pick-up pattern: uni-directional
Frequency Response: 100Hz – 10,000 Hz
Impedance: 2.2k Ohms
Sensitivity: -46 dB ±3dB

LOOKS GOOD JUST GOT RELEASED
Last Edit: 5 years 9 months ago by S.A.F OggyMan.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F Klawful
  • S.A.F Klawful's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
5 years 9 months ago #16205 by S.A.F Klawful
S.A.F Klawful replied the topic: Re: Headset? Need opinion/advice
Does look good, and has a good review, but finding a NZ supplier would be a pain. lol. Too new.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 9 months ago #16211 by S.A.F OggyMan
S.A.F OggyMan replied the topic: Re: Headset? Need opinion/advice
No eBay APP ID défined in Kunena configurationit on ebay



$129 plus shipping.... from sydney to perth ( further than you away ) $16

ask seller for a quote to nz

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F Klawful
  • S.A.F Klawful's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
5 years 9 months ago #16213 by S.A.F Klawful
S.A.F Klawful replied the topic: Re: Headset? Need opinion/advice
While Cm Storm was tempting, I've decided to go with the SteelSeries Siberia v2 Headset.

Mainly because of the reviews, and secondly because the local pc store (Modster-Pc) can get them in and match the cheapest price on Pricespy. $146.85

And finally, because if I do have any problems, I know Steve at modster-pc will help me out directly. He's a guy who knows that customer service and satisfaction matters.

Thanks for all the helpful advice guys, I almost got those G35's or Creative Fatality's. Saved me from a lemon there!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F majorpous
  • S.A.F majorpous's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Active Contributor
  • Active Contributor
More
5 years 9 months ago #16214 by S.A.F majorpous
S.A.F majorpous replied the topic: Re: Headset? Need opinion/advice
Maybe look at some Sennheiser PC166's then - which are a USB headset. I have used these a couple of times at a friends place. The audio quality is very good, although nothing like the HD 650's, but they are also about 1/5th the price. I cant comment on long term comfort, but if you do some web searching I would imagine you will get plenty of into about the user comfort. They are open backed so you dont get the earmuff feeling, and this makes for less sweaty ears. I have seen them retailing for around $160, I think that quite a few of the online computer stores such as Ascent and playtech have them. Not that playtech deserve anyones money in my opinion!.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Moderators: S.A.F Masterpetey