× The S.A.F website is intended to provide a warm, friendly atmosphere for our Battlefield Community. We are mainly a Battlefield series related Clan and we run our site as a community as many people enjoy our server and like to participate with us here. ( Rules ) Open for general discussions...

Bf3 and Mw3 Review from E3.

  • S.A.F Dman
  • S.A.F Dman's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Active Contributor
  • Active Contributor
More
5 years 11 months ago - 5 years 11 months ago #15760 by S.A.F Dman
S.A.F Dman created the topic: Bf3 and Mw3 Review from E3.
thisordinaryguy.com/mw3andbf3review/
Its looking like Bf3 is clearly the better game and so it should be. Newer Frostbite 2 engine, Ant system, Destruction 2.0, vehicles, huge maps, high player count, graphics, physics the list goes on and on. Bf3 beats Mw3 in just about every spec you can think of. Ea have really invested alot into this one whereas Infinity Ward have done yet another cut and paste job. So what does Mw3 got going for it you ask? Erm... Nothing, well it does have a 3 on the end. Infinity Ward dont need to do anything. The name sells itself. Mw3 is looking more like Mw2.5 a rehashed or rebadged Mw2. Even so Mw3 will more than likely sell more copies and get a higher review score. But that does not make it a better game. Just means alot of people are stupid and stubborn. It wouldn't matter if Bf3 was as good as Mw3 or 100 times better than Mw3. People will still rate Mw3 better. Just because of the Modern Warfare name and it has a "3" on the end. Even if Bf3 did get a score it truly deserved theres no way any board would allow it to have a higher score than Mw3 simply because most of these review sites are in Infinity Wards pockets. Can u imagine the masses of dissapointed Cod fanatics as well.
Last Edit: 5 years 11 months ago by S.A.F Dman.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F Klawful
  • S.A.F Klawful's Avatar
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
5 years 11 months ago #15761 by S.A.F Klawful
S.A.F Klawful replied the topic: Re: Bf3 and Mw3 Review from E3.
I wouldn't be surprised if quite a few review sites WERE in Infinity Ward's pockets, or simply such fan's that they'd lie about how good it is, or simply exaggerate how much THEY like it, flaws or not.

Regardless, I reckon BF3 will still make an impact that will be felt for years to come. And gamers will be quick to compare any future FPS release to the words "Remember when Battlefield 3 came out?"

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F Dman
  • S.A.F Dman's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Active Contributor
  • Active Contributor
More
5 years 11 months ago - 5 years 11 months ago #15762 by S.A.F Dman
S.A.F Dman replied the topic: Re: Bf3 and Mw3 Review from E3.
Imo Mw3 dosn't deserve a higher score than Bf3. There still using a dated 2005 engine. It seems that Dice/Ea have to work 4 times harder to get the same recognition/credit as Infinity. I dont know how they can even compare the 2 graphically and say that Infinitys IW4.0 engine is better. The whole gaming industry is abit of a joke atm really.
Last Edit: 5 years 11 months ago by S.A.F Dman.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 11 months ago #15764 by S.A.F Masterpetey
S.A.F Masterpetey replied the topic: Re: Bf3 and Mw3 Review from E3.
ill prolly be getting mw3...itll never be better than the battlefield series but i like playing it anyway

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F Dman
  • S.A.F Dman's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Active Contributor
  • Active Contributor
More
5 years 11 months ago #15765 by S.A.F Dman
S.A.F Dman replied the topic: Re: Bf3 and Mw3 Review from E3.
Activision are just yet again milking the cash cow that is Modern Warfare. I for one am not stupid enough to spend another $100 on the same game but Im guessing by the stats there are a fews million that are.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 11 months ago #15766 by S.A.F Masterpetey
S.A.F Masterpetey replied the topic: Re: Bf3 and Mw3 Review from E3.
i feel ya but i must say ea/dice are not saints either....look at half ass bc2 when it came out, ea had nothing for 2010 for pc sos they ported....voip still doesnt work ingame...just like microsoft did with vista...half assed shit.hopefully bf3 will work great.......not that it matters, we all preordered anyway, ea has our cash already.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F Dman
  • S.A.F Dman's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Active Contributor
  • Active Contributor
More
5 years 11 months ago - 5 years 11 months ago #15768 by S.A.F Dman
S.A.F Dman replied the topic: Re: Bf3 and Mw3 Review from E3.
True that. Pc Battlefield gamers were neglected in 2010. Bad Company didnt deserve the Battlefield name attatched to it. Ea really did cash in on the Battlefield name then. They saw that alot of money was to be made in the console market and went there. So we had no choice but to play the half assed port that was Bc2.
Last Edit: 5 years 11 months ago by S.A.F Dman.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 11 months ago #15770 by S.A.F M3RRiK
S.A.F M3RRiK replied the topic: Re: Bf3 and Mw3 Review from E3.
BF3 is so going to be responsible for Billions of $ in PC upgrades... isn't this always the case with these hardware hungry games?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 11 months ago #15773 by S.A.F OggyMan
S.A.F OggyMan replied the topic: Re: Bf3 and Mw3 Review from E3.
got me upgraded..

who wants to buy the old bits... cheap cheap...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 11 months ago - 5 years 11 months ago #15775 by S.A.F I-Robot
S.A.F I-Robot replied the topic: Re: Bf3 and Mw3 Review from E3.
like the budgie eh? lol

Im trying to put a modest machine together to join in when I can, its mostly done but I need to find the most powerful single slot card I can, so far its looking like the Galaxy GTX 460 Razor , if anyone knows of something better let me know. My itx box has a full on H67 controller and a proper PCIe X16 slot (not X8 wiring as many ITX boards are) but there isnt room in the case for a doule card. It vents heat internally in PC but my ITX case has massive cooling capacity to spare.

So far its a Pentium G620T, Asus P8H67-I motherboard , 8GB dual channel 1333 Corsair memory, 2 x OCZ Agility 3 60GB SATA3 SSD in Raid0 for boot drive and OS and 4 x Spinpoint F3 1TB 7200RPM SATA2 drives in RAID 10 for storage. OK so the CPU isnt very powerful and the built in VGA is shit but you should see the disk I/O! :laugh: I might consider an i5 down the line. I actually planned it to be a server, and then an office machine, but its such a good board that it begs to be stretched into something more versatile.

As for MW vs Battlefield, a friend talked me into playing it or whatever preceded it recently, I quickly hated it. Nothing but frantic mundane close combat, it struck me as like loads of kids tearing round and round the sofa after each other. No strategy, no variation, no depth. I am massively biased in favour of Battlefield, its a far more rewarding and variable game.
Last Edit: 5 years 11 months ago by S.A.F I-Robot.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F Klawful
  • S.A.F Klawful's Avatar
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
5 years 11 months ago #15779 by S.A.F Klawful
S.A.F Klawful replied the topic: Re: Bf3 and Mw3 Review from E3.
I've always had the view that the COD series is merely a death match arena game, pretending to be a war game simply because war games sell better than arena games.

Battlefield 3 currently holds the hype for best first-impression. People who have never gamed before, are picking a BF3 trailer over a MW3 one.... by a land-slide. Infact, people who normally don't give a rats arse about shooting games, are going to buy Battlefield 3.

I suspect the Battlefield community will expand ten fold this year, and then some.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F Klawful
  • S.A.F Klawful's Avatar
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
5 years 11 months ago #15780 by S.A.F Klawful
S.A.F Klawful replied the topic: Re: Bf3 and Mw3 Review from E3.
Some dam good single-player jet flying in 720p, plus more.

http://www.youtube.com/user/OxideSix

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F Dman
  • S.A.F Dman's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Active Contributor
  • Active Contributor
More
5 years 11 months ago - 5 years 11 months ago #15782 by S.A.F Dman
S.A.F Dman replied the topic: Re: Bf3 and Mw3 Review from E3.

S.A.F I-Robot wrote: As for MW vs Battlefield, a friend talked me into playing it or whatever preceded it recently, I quickly hated it. Nothing but frantic mundane close combat, it struck me as like loads of kids tearing round and round the sofa after each other. No strategy, no variation, no depth. I am massively biased in favour of Battlefield, its a far more rewarding and variable game.


My thougts exactly. Couldn't of said it better myself. Im guessing once Bf3 comes out some of the COD gamers will be switching over. I don't know if thats a good or bad thIng. So expect to have alot of gunho little kids running around aimlessly quick sniping and talking trash.
Last Edit: 5 years 11 months ago by S.A.F Dman.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F Klawful
  • S.A.F Klawful's Avatar
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
5 years 11 months ago #15783 by S.A.F Klawful
S.A.F Klawful replied the topic: Re: Bf3 and Mw3 Review from E3.
Don't expect much team-work from those kids either. They'll treat it like COD and run around trying to rambo everything. (Which will make them easy fodder for a S.A.F Firing Squad)

I hope to god someone makes a server that has a "teamwork score" auto-admin. Low teamwork score = Instant kick. Would be heaven.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F Dman
  • S.A.F Dman's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Active Contributor
  • Active Contributor
More
5 years 11 months ago - 5 years 11 months ago #15786 by S.A.F Dman
S.A.F Dman replied the topic: Re: Bf3 and Mw3 Review from E3.
I think the Ranking System in Bf3 needs an overhaul. Your rank should represent your skill level and not be based on your accumalated score. That way if your skill level drops so does your Rank rather than it just going up and up until you hit 50 and next thing you know everyone is a Rank 50 which makes it worthless and dosn't represent your actual skill level but just the amount of time played. There should also be a dedicated Veteran status that goes by the amount of time played and not how many games you own. That way it's easier to decipher the newbies from the elite.
Last Edit: 5 years 11 months ago by S.A.F Dman.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F Klawful
  • S.A.F Klawful's Avatar
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
5 years 11 months ago #15787 by S.A.F Klawful
S.A.F Klawful replied the topic: Re: Bf3 and Mw3 Review from E3.
Be nice if you could display your TOTAL time played next to your solider name, not just for that soldier, but for all soldiers on that account added up.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F ploppy_slow
  • S.A.F ploppy_slow's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Elite Poster
  • Elite Poster
More
5 years 11 months ago #15801 by S.A.F ploppy_slow
S.A.F ploppy_slow replied the topic: Re: Bf3 and Mw3 Review from E3.
I won't have to up grade my xbox tho.
HA HA PC suxers. :P

What you got to sell Oggy?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F Klawful
  • S.A.F Klawful's Avatar
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
5 years 11 months ago #15802 by S.A.F Klawful
S.A.F Klawful replied the topic: Re: Bf3 and Mw3 Review from E3.
Um, Ploppy. xbox/ps3 can't even handle BF3 properly. They are lowering the graphics settings heavily, lowering the max FPS to 30, and the max players to 24. (no 64 player maps).

The problem is, consoles are 5 years behind in technology. Makes you wonder why they don't add a upgrade slot to the next gen consoles... mainly a graphics card, and just have it easy to install.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • S.A.F Klawful
  • S.A.F Klawful's Avatar
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
5 years 11 months ago #15803 by S.A.F Klawful
S.A.F Klawful replied the topic: Re: Bf3 and Mw3 Review from E3.
http://www.cinemablend.com/games/Battlefield-3-Modern-Warfare-3-Launch-Trailer-Showdown-36296.html

BF3 Trailer vs MW3 trailer, and everyone votes..... BF3 Wins.... by 82%

By no indication of the game, but graphics has to play SOME factor to that 82%.... lol

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Moderators: S.A.F Masterpetey